Puff, the CCP’s Magic Dragon

In my previous post, I pointed to an article on Xinhua in which some party officials were calling for the “spread” of democracy in China. After reading that article, I felt somewhat encouraged that perhaps China’s political future was heading in the right direction.

Today, Tom over at Seeing Red in China wrote an article that has me feeling less encouraged. He points to some statements by high level CCP officials stating things like “[o]n the basis of China’s conditions, we’ve made a solemn declaration that we’ll not employ a system of multiple parties holding office in rotation” and that there is “[no] possibility of separating executive, legislative and judicial powers, adopting a bicameral or federal system…”

Wu Bangguo, the chairman of the National People’s Congress (NPC) Standing Committee, was the one making those statements, so they presumably carry the weight of the CCP leadership behind them.

In my previous post, I said, “[t]here is a good chance that the Xinhua article is just a propaganda puff piece to improve the CCP’s international image.” Despite that possibility, I was hopeful. Today, I would have to say it was just propaganda, as I feared.

The CCP’s continual fear-mongering is really getting old and tiresome. Said Wu:

If we waver (from the correct political orientation and major issues of principle, such as the fundamental system of the State), the achievements gained thus far in development will be lost and it is possible the country could sink into the abyss of internal disorder.

When will the CCP learn? If they don’t reform, they all but guarantee the “abyss of internal disorder” that they say they fear so much. The corruption inherent in the structure of their government ensure that the people will eventually have had enough. How can people so (justifiably) proud of their history be so ignorant of one of its major lessons? The CCP very well might become one of China’s shorter “dynasties.”

This entry was posted in Chinese Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Puff, the CCP’s Magic Dragon

  1. Tom says:

    Sorry to take some of the wind out of your sails Pete.
    I never said that I didn’t think democracy was ever going to be realized in China, it’s just further down the road than we thought.
    Each generation of leadership has been more open to the possibility, now we just have to wait another year for the next set of leaders, anything could happen.

  2. Pete Nelson says:

    Hey Tom,

    I didn’t feel that you took the wind out of my sails – you just found some information that was counter to what I saw, which is great. I think we are both interested in the truth about China (if there is any actual “truth”), and so I actually appreciated what you wrote. I’m aware that the CCP does its best to shape world opinions on China, the CCP, and the CCP’s government, and I so wasn’t too surprised to see what Wu Bangguo said. It seems clear now that what I read was propaganda meant for foreign readers; Wu’s statements were probably the “real” policy; although, it might be possible that he is more reactionary than others in the CCP. I haven’t studied the individual leaders in the CCP to any extent, so I don’t know where they stand relatively in regard to liberalization of China’s government.

Comments are closed.